Clash of Emotions!!!

“Everyone has their own ways of expression. I believe we all have a lot to say, but finding ways to say it is more than half the battle.” -Criss Jami


Youth is not a time of life; it is a state of mind; it is not a matter of rosy cheeks, red lips and supple knees; it is a matter of the will, quality of the imagination, a vigor of the emotions; it is the freshness of the deep springs of life. To be an adult means constantly to be in the grip of opposing emotions, to have daily to reconcile apparently conflicting tensions. I want this, but need that. I cherish this, but I adore its opposite too.

I’m fascinated by the ways in which people express themselves, because their responses are often counter to what they’re actually feeling. Like when they’re frightened, they tend to freeze. When they’re angry, it doesn’t always come out as volume. There are wonderful contradictions in the way that people express their emotions.
I tend to wear my emotions on my sleeve. I’ve had my share of mood swings, believe me. But it’s a powerful thing when you realize that you have dominion over your behavior and your passions. I gave myself permission to feel and experience all of my emotions. In order to do that, I had to stop being afraid to feel. In order to do that, I taught myself to believe that no matter what I felt or what happened when I felt it, I would be okay. We cannot control what emotions or circumstances we will experience next, but we can choose how we will respond to them.

Some of us are only going to show our emotions while we’re actually vulnerable. But that’s what makes us human.
What Elizabeth Taylor once said is unmistakably true for me,” I have a woman’s body and a child’s emotions.” We all try to have some amount of control over our emotions, but that does not call upon us to tame our emotions. That will be really unfair to the creation of God.

“I think that if you want to pass emotion, you have to write a letter. Emotions do not pass in SMS or in e-mail.” Alber Elbaz. I feel blessed to have my best friend who is like the page to whom i can narrate my emotions at any point of time- be it good or bad-No matter how mad i be at that moment. In the heat of emotions, i do say some rhetoric that is explosive but i am thankful that we both calm it down. I never was capable of expressing my emotions and feelings until i found the medium to do so and my best friend to encourage me through.
“It is the mind which creates the world around us, and even though we stand side by side in the same meadow, my eyes will never see what is beheld by yours, my heart will never stir to the emotions with which yours is touched.”

I would like to conclude by saying that emotions are the key to many aspects of life. They are precisely the elements that make human beings human. I think the fact that emotions have been reduced and put off to the side in intellectual work, particularly in the 20th Century, is tragic.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Clash of Emotions!!!

  1. Rashmi says:

    It’s true dat human emotions r purely evidential. N even sometimes emotions play d role of our heart or mind, sometimes we r unable 2 xpress ourselves in front of others n at dat point of time emotions go on fulfilling major part of it.

    Inspired writing Kanika:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

