Challenging the language in a funny way :p

Among all the theories of evolution, my favorite is that man (and of course, woman!)kind is moving at a lightening pace towards absurdity.The other day, i sat down to ponder over the phrases and slang we use in our daily communication.

 

Starting today, i have decided to cleanse myself of verbal nonsense. :p My dedication to the cause is such that I’ve spent quite a while compiling the following OTS (One-tight-slap) phrases…. and how I, or some of those who’ve written about these on the internet react to them.

Slap me if you find me dishing out these from now on… only after you allow me to do the same with you. :p

  • What’s up ?

    Ha! All ‘cool’ dudes greeting everyone by saying ‘Wassup’, please come here. Tell me what do you exactly want the other person to answer? What could possibly be up? The ceiling? The sky?

 

How do you do?

I have the same problem with this one too. How do i do what? For God’s sake, this doesn’t seem a grammatically complete or correct sentence.

 

To be honest

I use this a lot.Well,not anymore. If you say ‘to be honest’ before you say something, are you suggesting that you are normally dishonest in other things you say? LOL.

 

You know what I mean

Yes, I do Einstein. But that won’t keep you away from saying it anyway, will it?

 

It is what it is

Bravo! Now this is something interesting. It is = It is. You are a mathematician, Sir.Respect.

 

Are you coming, or what?

What, what, what? What was the need to add ‘or what’ here? Are you crazy or what?   

 

What’s done is done

Are you the same person who says ‘it is what it is’? You better be, I don’t wish to kill two people.

 

You can’t have your cake and eat it too

Are you serious ? If it’s my cake, of course I’ll eat it. What else am I supposed to do with it? Try stopping me !

 

Take care of your personal belongings

As opposed to what… my impersonal belongings? Oh, you mean something I stole from the fellow passenger? Don’t worry, I consider it very personal now. :p

 

I saw it with ‘my own’ eyes

Oh shit. Are you okay now? :p

Ever wondered, WHY DO WE HAVE NOSES THAT RUN AND FEET THAT SMELL? ;p

“ENGLISH IS A FUNNY LANGUAGE; THAT EXPLAINS WHY WE PARK OUR CAR ON THE DRIVEWAY AND DRIVE OUR CAR ON THE PARKWAY.

 

2 thoughts on “Challenging the language in a funny way :p

Leave a Reply

